What are advantages and disadvantages of watching TV?

In recent years, television has become popular in the most parts of the world. As a result, everyone has an easy access to a TV set or even their mobile phone serves many TV channels. Undoubtedly, this may have a significant impact on the development of the youth. This trend would create certain benefits but there still exists also some undeniable drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clearly that watching TV would bring about several positive aspects. First of all, local citizens have an additional resource of useful information by watching broadcasted programmes. For instance, they can learn about natures, sciences or politics from documentaries series, so they may see the complex relationships of life in dramas. Another reason is that television would help people feel less lonely, Psychologists coined the term "social surrogate" to explain how television can fill the shoes of absent friends or family and in one study published in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, researchers found that people who watch a favorite TV show report feeling less lonely during the show.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would rise. First, we must absolutely agree that television could cause an enormous damage to physical and mental well-being. According to some studies, it has shown that there is a correlation between watching television and obesity. Besides, if people spend more than 3 hours per day for watching TV, it can also them contribute to sleep difficulties, behavior problems, lower grades and other health issues. Second, it will be taken a wide range of budget time because watching television fills the time a person might have spent doing important, enriching things like interacting socially with other human beings, being physically active, discovering the outdoors, reading, using one's own imagination, or accomplishing other things like working, etc.

In conclusion, there are various merits to watch television regarding improved resource of useful information and less lonely feeling. However, the downsides would emerge consequently in terms of the damage for health and waste of time.