What are the pros and cons for children of watching TV?

Since the invention of television, its popularity has steadily increased. Nowadays, more and more children spend their free time watching television. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages to doing it. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument before giving my own opinion.

To begin with, the positive effects of watching children’s Television. One of the main positive of watching TV is that it helps children learn more than they know at this age. Television is one of the most digital forms of entertainment, information and knowledge. By this way, it can help children relax and they can be master in a foreign language. Besides that, watching television is a good way to spend time together with family. As a result, they establish a much closer relationship and know more about each other.

On the other hand, watching Television too much will bring about some negative impacts on both physical and mental health. According to research, children who watch television regular tend to be easily angrier than those who rarely do. Seeing too many movies that have violence or crimes scenes will make them nearly repeated more inclined to misbehave when they grow up. Furthermore, the more we watch, the more passive we are because when concentrating on the screen’s television, our brain is not working as it becomes lazier. It also leads to many eye-sight diseases. As a consequence, about 80% of students in Vietnam suffer from short-sightedness. People often spend their time watching television, preventing themselves from joining outdoor activities.

All things considered, televisions in all cases influence children. While it can educate and enable them to have a good time with their family, it can also harm their health and change their ways of life. In my opinion, it is advisable for children to play outside with their friends instead of sitting in front of a screen all day.