What can governments do to encourage children to eat more healthily?

Write at least 250 words to discuss the topic.

A topical issue in modern society is children’s diet. This will cause risk of many serious problems if children do not control their diet every day. However, the governments still can apply several measures which make children have a balanced diet.

There are two main methods why the governments can do to encourage children to eat healthy food. Firstly, governments can levy a high tax on fast food chains to reduce fast food consumption from children. To elaborate, when the price of junk food is costly, children have to eat more healthy food, such as organic food and homemade food. Secondly, the governments can show negative effects of unhealthy food on TV and social media. As a result, children perceive that they have to eat more healthily to prevent diseases and have high resistance.

A further way is that the governments should prohibit promotion from fast food restaurants. Commercials for fast food often target young children through offering inducements, such as the toys in the happy meal at McDonalds for example. The children are persuaded to demand a happy meal, yet often do not necessarily want to eat the food contained in it. The only thing they want is the toy. If advertising junk food were forbidden, the number of children consuming pre-cooked meals would be reduced.

In conclusion, children’s healthy diet is a topic which is very relevant to contemporary modern. Nevertheless, I believe that the best solution is by placing a tax on fast food and making it more expensive than healthy raw foods, children would began to eat more healthily. If additionally the advertising of quick service restaurants were banned, the number of obese children would decrease even more drastically.