When children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than their parents. Agree/disagree.

It is an indisputable fact that teachers have an essential role to play in the cognitive development and social skills of youngsters. Whilst there remains some disagreement as to the role of educators compared to that of parents in juveniles’ lives; in this essay, I intend to argue that the impacts of parents on the adolescents far outweighs the influences of teachers at large.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that schools have significant impacts on the intellectual and societal capabilities of youngsters. At schools, children are able to engage in a multitude of subjects such as mathematics, physics, and chemistry that enable them to develop their cognitive abilities. Equally importantly, though, teachers encourage youngsters to participate in an extensive diversity of social activities ranging from sports activities and other learning groups. One particularly salient example of this is the teamwork in some subjects such as English or some other contests at schools. Admittedly, those activities are by no means incorporated into all subjects; however, these subjects and activities and the supervision of teachers are likely to enhance the social skills of adolescents.

On the other hand, parents have an even more important role in adolescents’ lives. By setting good example to their kids, parents are more likely to facilitate the good patterns of behaviours of adolescents. One especially good example of this is the fact that youngsters are inclined to imitate the behaviours and appearance of their parents. Also, the juveniles who live in parentless environment tend to feel a sense of alienation which is detrimental to their social activities. Without the supervision and guidance of parents, adolescents are more likely to prone to misbehavior and inattention in later life. The role of parents is therefore of the utmost importance throughout children’s lives.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my perspective that parents have a crucial role to play in shaping juveniles’ behavior, habits, social skills, and coginitive development at large. However, the role of teachers is by no means unimportant, thus, the suitable support of teachers would be warranted.