When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technologies has grown overwhelmingly in the past few decades. Many people believe that old fashioned way of doing things has lost due to its emergence and it is impossible to save them. This essay will argue that why certain things will persist in existence, despite technological advancements.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the world modernized with the technical inventions which caused the extinction of traditional ways of life. The reliance on computers and machines increased because it guarantees ease, convenience and efficiency. For instance, in the past, people used to communicate overseas through letters which were taking months to reach to the intended person, but now a days, it is barely one click away to talk for hours. Similarly, in different corporate sectors, the menial jobs are carried out by Robots, instead of human. To exemplify, the BMW automotive company workforce is consist of one-third of the automated computers. The benefits which the technology brought to the society has eradicated the dependence on human.

However, despite all of the innovations in the IT sector, some of the skills has never lost its significance. The machines will never compete with human in their abilities and the human labor can only guarantee the quality of the product. For example, there is still a high demand for watches or fabrics which are handmade, instead of machines, due to its good quality. In addition, the technology has made everything easily accessible, still people do not let go of the old ways of doing it. For example, the internet is full of books and news, but people never stop investing on buying printed materials. Similar is the case with shopping. Although online shopping has brought everything to the doorstep, still going to the shopping malls for buying stuff is common. So, the point is, technologies cannot completely replace everything.

This essay argued that people who believe that conservative ways of life die out after technological breakthrough has the flawed understanding. In my opinion, I agree that technologies has changed the world massively by taking over different traditions and skills, but few of these where the quality and addiction is concerned, they would never be replaced whatsoever.