when design a building, the most important factor is intend use of the building rather than its outward appearance. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people suppose that the utilitarian function should be a foundation in architectural design. While buildings must serve a specific purpose, I disagree that this is the most important factor.

The intent purpose is, of course, significant feature which designer should consider when construct new buildings. In term of commercial designs, the shop façade, for instance, often be equipped with large transparent glass windows in order to attract passer-by to their products on display. However, those kind of shop front is an eyesore because they fail to blend in with other traditional designs which have been grown organically, maybe for centuries. From housing designs perspective, in many megacities nowadays, the population density has reached dramatic number, which force the house rent charging for the land increase to outrageous price. As a result, rise- high buildings become the only solution for urban dwellers.

While, architectural design must serve specific function, I personally think that the aesthetic aspect should not be underestimated. Many countries around the world have revived inhabitant’s interest in traditional designs. Although, utilitarian buildings such as multi-storey parks are inevitable result from modern lifestyle, new and renovated houses, shops and offices can combine with useful function as well as pleasing designs. in cities like Paris for example, historic dwellings not only possess character but also give a strong sense of identity of those cities.

In conclusion, I disagree the function of architectural designs should be the first priority when people plan to construct buildings.