When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the architect should prioritize the function rather than the exterior appearance when erecting a building. I partly agree with this view, while the purpose is important, we should create harmonization between the internal and external decoration.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that the purpose of a building is the key factor when constructing it. To be more specific, each building has its own practical use, so it should be designed to meet the requirements of the owner. For example, a skyscraper should be equipped with the essential systems and adequate emergency exits to ensure safety and convenience for users. In case of fire or earthquake, disastrous consequences could happen if the structure of the building was not carefully considered before.

On the other hand, a magnificent-looking structure can bring a wide range of benefits that should be taken into consideration. First of all, it can raise the commercial value of the building. For example, a shopping center with an appealing outward decoration could attract more customers than the normal one, as a result, could generate enormous revenue for the owner. Secondly, designing a building with modernized architecture might be a clear testament to an advanced civilization. Take London as an example, this city is renowned for many special design buildings, such as The Gherkin or Big Ben Tower, etc., which become tourist traps and contribute much to the national budget. Last but not least, the outward design of a construction somehow could have a positive impact on its function, such as maximizing the air ventilation and the influx of natural sunlight, etc.

In conclusion, I agree that it is very important to focus on the inner function of a building, but this is by no means that the aesthetic factor of it could be ignored.