When people learn a foreign language, all four listening, reading, speaking, writing skills are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?v

Some people are of the opinion that all four listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills are of equal significance in the process of learning a non-native language. Personally, I strongly agree with the notion because of their unique roles in different phases of the learning process.

On the one hand, listening and speaking skills are mainly needed when people start to learn a new language because of their formative roles. In fact, the two mentioned skills help to build the rudimentary command of the language in the beginning period. While listening makes the learners’ vocabulary broaden, speaking is a means of putting the acquired knowledge into practical use. Therefore, it is evident that speaking and listening skills are fundamental in the starting phase of the learning process.

On the other hand, writing and reading skills are of significant contribution to language proficiency after learners have gained a certain amount of knowledge. It is scientifically proven that the more you read, the easier you find it to learn new words and grammar structures, which in turn directly enrich and enlarge learners’ vocabulary. Besides, practicing writing can sharpen individuals’ ability to express themselves and put across their messages, helping to improve their communicating skills.

To conclude, despite controversial opinions on determining the importance of four listening, reading, speaking, writing skills, I endorse the idea that the given skills are of unique contributions to a person’s proficiency in a non-native language. While speaking and reading skills help learners gain fundamental understanding, the remaining skills hone their acquired command.