Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that luck mainly makes a contribution to the success of some people, rather than hard work. Personally, I disagree with this opinion for a number of reasons.

On the one hand, hard work plays a crucial role in people‘s achievement. To obtain a goal, people usually have to develop a plan and then devote their money, time and effort to their own projects. With thorough preparation during an appropriate period of time, they are likely to reach their determined target. For example, to become a doctor, students may have to dig deep into complicated issues of medicine and then undertake years of training. Without attempt and commitment, they might not accomplish their dream.

On the other hand, luck is just a miniature factor in determining one’s accomplishment . In fact, luck is a determinant that no one can manipulate completely so that it is extremely risky to depend too much on it. People who gamble their success solely on luck tend to end up being disappointed if what they await does not happen. The worst case is that they might fail in fulfilling their ambition. For example, there are a lot of students who always hope to be lucky to stumble upon some questions that they have studied carefully. They also tend to underestimate the process of preparation and training. As a result, they might not have the ability to solve an unexpected problem and then get bad marks in the exam.

In conclusion, I hold the view that luck is not of paramount importance in every success. Instead, industrious and well-prepared people have a high probability to attain their objectives in their life.