While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Agree or disagree

After graduating from high school, many students choose to go to university for academic study instead of doing vocational training. Therefore, there is a lack of qualified workers. I think vocational training should be encouraged since there is a limited amount of information and skills that university students acquire while studying.

Vocational training takes less time and is more practical to study than a university degree. They are efficient because they are skill-oriented. They will focus on what is necessary to have these skills and how to perform their tasks efficiently, whereas, the university curriculum is more extended and may in-depth explore other subjects. For example, going to a university studying 4 to 5 years degree as an electrician will not make someone change a light bold or resolve a cable problem as fast as someone that went to study this specific type of work.

Another aspect of vocational training is that most of them do not require mandatory completion of secondary school education, consequently making it easier for more students to enroll. Students who cannot graduate from high school can choose to do vocational training to have a stable job in the future. On the other side, because of easier requirements, graduating from vocational training may cause some skepticism since university graduates are considered more well-accomplished. I think this is one of the reasons that cause this lack of encouragement towards vocational training. Additionally, people might not want to do this type of job because they might have safety concerns.

In conclusion, unless there are less skepticism and more advertisements exposing the need and importance of vocational training, there might always have a lack of qualified workers.