Working from home has become more common with technological advances; however, it has many challenges associated with it. What are some of the challenges that someone working from home may face? What are some of the influences on society of more people working from home? What is your opinion?

The advent of the Internet has enabled the trend for working remotely rather than commuting daily to work. Like many other technologies, this has not only some positive influences on the society, but also challenges for those remote workers, and this essay will explain why I think working at workplace should be better.

To begin with, the beneficial impact of this practice would cause less traffic congestion in many cities nowadays. Commuters do not have to endure the daily commute or get a chance of being late because they have to drop their kids at schools. To put this further, minimizing traffic congestion, especially during rush hours, means lower level of air pollution, which is also a critical problem. For example, if more than a half number of workers were allowed to work from home, then a half number of vehicles would not show up on the streets, and the air would be much fresher. However, there are challenges that need to deal with remote workers in return.

In this modern world, the feeling of isolation is not uncommon and working from home would exacerbate this. A lack of colleague interaction might actually cause people more stressed than working in cubicles. Not to mention, there are projects that require face-to-face or teamwork-orientated discussion, but in term of telecommuting, send emails or making phone calls is the only option available. Furthermore, everyone who has ever tried to organize a conference call knows that face-to-face interactions are normally more effective and productive than trying to commuting remotely.

In conclusion, it is manifest that working from home is a mixed bag. Although it helps reduce heavy traffic and air pollution, having everyone at homes all day is probably not the best solution because people need to communicate directly to each other.