The world's natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the causes of this situation? What are the solutions?

The increasingly consumption rate of natural resources has been a topic of concern in today world. This situation can be ascribed to several factors, such as the rising demand and the over-reliant of countries. It should be address by some definite solutions, such as manufacture more eco-friendly product and focus on alternative resources.

Over-consumption in many developing countries can be attributed to some reasons. The most obvious one is that citizens in developed countries with abundance resources are getting wealthier. As a result, they can afford a lifestyle associated with high living standard which means higher consumption of resources. Another important factor is the overdependence of countries on natural resources. They develop their economy through exploiting natural resources, such as fossil fuel, raw oil and coat. For example, the majority of electricity in Viet Nam are generated in thermal factories, in which coat are burn on a daily basis.

Some remedies could be implemented to tackle the surging level of resources consumption. A viable solution is that high-quality product from developed countries should be mass manufacture, then sell to undeveloped countries with a lower price. Such a measure would enable lower-income citizens to experience high living standard without having more resources consumed. In addition, governments could lower the consumption rate by taking advantages of substantial energy resources, such as wind, solar and tidal energy. For instance, in Japan wind turbines are installed in grass fields and on the ocean which generated about twenty percent of the annual need of electricity without harming the environment.

To sum up, the overexploitation of natural resources derives from the strong demand in developing countries and the over-reliance on these types of resources. Strong measures, such as reducing the aforementioned demand and using alternative energy sources, should be applied to address this situation.