Write about the following topic.

Worker often have to retire at the age of 60 or 65. However, some people say that they should be allowed to continue working for as long as they want.

What is your opinion about this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the advent of better health care facilities and nutritious foods the life expectancy of human beings are increased. In this scenario, the retirement age of the workers is an animated topic for discussion in these days. Many countries following the age of 60 or 65 for the retirement. However, some arguers believe that they should be permitted to work as long as they want. This essay supports this opinion for various reasons.

Firstly, many people are healthy and able to do their work even in their 60’s or 65’s. Those people should be allowed to work for how long they want. At this age of worker’s life they can help, the company or organization, to take some crucial decisions. For example, they might have encountered a lot of problems in their employment period and learned many various methods to tackle the issues. Problem solving and better decision taking ability are important to achieve success of any organization. Thus, the retirement age should not be 60’s or 65’s.

Secondly, due to advancement in health care facilities the longevity of human being is increased than in the bygone days. Thus, the number of elderly people in the society is high than the active young generation which will leads to less productivity. It will be a burden for the government as they have to support them with pensions and health care facilities. So if the person is capable to work allow them to contribute their part to ease the tension of the govt. Additionally, if they stay at home, without work, make them lonely and this will affect them both physically and mentally.

So, to conclude, a person’s physical or mental health strength not relies on their age. If a person wants to work after their 60’s or 65’s, it is better to permit them. This will help the individual as well as society in a positive way. It is high time, all the governments and concerned authorities should change the retirement criteria.