Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.

What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Housing is an essential in bettering people’s lives. However, a steadily increased demand of houses and accommodation are left us an unsolved issue for many cosmopolitan cities around the world. This essay will discuss the fundamental reasons of housing crisis and will explore possible solutions to this.

One of the main reason for housing shortage in this modern world is the population density. In contrast to the bygone days, due to the technological advancement the life span of human being are increased. Likewise, the availability of natural resources for the construction of houses such as land and materials are not increasing. Another cause behind the shortage is people are migrating from rural areas to urban areas in search of job and better life for them and their families. To cite an example, people from India are migrating to Canada, Australia, and the US.

It is clear that, solutions to these issues need to be found. One suggestion is that, the governments should implement some law to restrict the number of child-bearing to control the population explosion. For example, the Chinese government has passed such law and somewhat it is successful. Another suggestion is to create satellite cities. This concept will reduce the number of migrants from rural areas to urban places in search of green pastures. For instance, create parallel cities or towns in rural places with all the advanced facilities for the local people.

To put it in a nutshell, the answer to the urban housing crisis totally relying on the effective planning for the future population growth while addressing the current needs. The above ascribed suggestions are highly recommended to resolve the housing crisis in future.