Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the beginning of the civilisation, colour has become a big part of human life. Different research and experiments have been done on finding the effect of colours on people’s moods and psychology and the finding of psychologists shows that feelings of people can be influenced by colour. Hence, some public buildings such as offices, hospitals are suggested to use appropriate colour for decoration to motive people to feel better and have a positive mindset. I agree that colour can affect our psychology and that is why offices and other public buildings should have appropriate colour and decoration.

Firstly, a public health service should be located in a nice place, have a comfortable environment and appropriate decoration so that people feel better being there. Especially it is important for the patients who stay there for quite a while or visit there for treatment. First priority should be the better treatment facility and skilled doctors and then the colour scheme and decoration should be set in a way so that people feel better being there. One of the supporting factors for establishing a better environment in a hospital is colouring the building with appropriate colour such as green and white. Colour of the building and decoration matter and that’s why the restaurants and food selling brands have invested a lot of money to find the right colour to inspire people to eat and drink. Almost every renowned restaurant has its own branding and colour to attract people. Proper colour can keep people calm and help them feel better and that’s why it is especially important for the hospitals and other health care centres to have the right colour and decoration. From my experience, I can say that I can wait more time in a room with soothing colour and decoration than in a messy room with very bright colour. We are accustomed to seeing colours through different situations and experience and that remains stored in our brain. A particular colour thus can trigger our brain and arouse our feelings unconsciously.

Similarly colour and interior decoration used in an office building can affect the mood and psychology of employees. Natural and eye-soothing colours are better for our physical and mental health and directly related to our stress level. Hence using the most appropriate colour in offices is also important. From my personal experience, I can say that I find light green, aqua and white colour very eye-soothing and I prefer to stay in a room decorated using these colours. Probably a very bright red colour would give me a headache as it is often related to anger, frustration and fire. Thus I believe that colours are directly and indirectly related to people’s work performance, mental state and health.

To sum up, I stand to claim that colour has a big effect on human psychology in many ways. Thus, colour or decoration of a room should never be selected randomly. Rather a good amount of time should be invested to colour any building properly to give a better impression and feeling to the people.