Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.

What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Worldwide, steadily increasing demand for houses and accommodation has left many cosmopolitan cities unable to meet the housing needs of their citizens.

One of the main reasons for housing shortage in urban areas is an increase in urban populations. Many individuals have migrated from rural areas to the cities in search of a better life for themselves and their families. Similarly, foreign immigration rates to large cities continue to rise. Another cause behind the shortage in housing supply is the desire of citizens and councils to protect ‘green spaces’ and environmental areas within the city. As admirable as this goal may be, it actually ties up valuable land which could be used for housing. In addition, the economic recession has caused investment in construction projects to drop away, which has slowed development in this area accordingly. A final contributing factor in some cities is a lack of coordinated planning and vision for the future, which fails to consider population growth and the needs of future residents.

It is clear that solutions to this housing crisis need to be found. One suggestion is to implement town planning systems which encourage the concept of satellite cities to give residents the best of both worlds. These satellite cities have all the benefits of small town living in regard to environment and community, but are situated only a short commute from the nearest city for employment purposes. Thus, they take the pressure off city infrastructure and in particular housing stock. Pockets of high density inner-city housing could also assist in alleviating the housing shortage.

All in all, the answers to the urban housing crisis lie in effective planning for future population growth while addressing current needs.