Recent studies shown that people with high blood pressure also tend to eat junk foods that are high in unhealthy fats. some people argue that increasing the price of such foods would help to lower the number of people with high blood pressure. Do you agree or disagree ? share any personal experiences you have had.

It is a well-known fact that health problems associated with obesity is increasing in an alarming rate all over the world. According to many people increasing the price of junk foods would reduce the number of people with the health problems like blood pressure. I agree with the above opinion. The reasons to favour this opinion are explored in the following essay.

First of all, increasing the cost of fast foods will push the people away from it and will find an alternatives for that. For example, when I was in university, a vegetarian restaurant is opened on campus that provided healthy dishes for cheap rate in an effort to raise the awareness of healthy foods. As a college student without much money, I found the prices of dishes are affordable and became a regular customer of that establishment. Thus, it proves according to my experience, consumers are sensitive to price and can encouraged to eat healthy foods when it's price is low.

In addition to this, raising the price of unhealthy foods will discourage people to buy it more frequently. To cite an example, on my summer vacation I had a part time job in MacDonald's. During this time, the shop offered a double promotion on burgers that for two weeks it is available for half price. And i noticed that, many people rushed to the shop and consumed these burgers, which is rich in unhealthy fats, at least three times than normal. It is returned to normal when the price of burgers reached before promotion. Thus, increasing the price of junk foods will reduce the number of consumers.

As seen above, price adjustment could be an effective way to discourage the people for the intake of unhealthy foods. I hope this idea should put on practice widely in the countries where obesity is a major problem.