Write about the following topic:

Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places ? An how to increase its popularity ?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is obvious that cycling is more eco-friendly than other forms of private transport. However, not so many people use it. There are several reasons for this trend and also a list of measures can be taken to make bicycle a more popular means of transport.

There are number of reasons why people are reluctant to choose cycling. Firstly, riding a bike is a physical demanding activity. It requires a reasonable level of fitness to take a journey of any distance, go up a hill or cope with bad weather such as heavy rains or biting winds. Secondly, many people refuse cycling because of the danger of busy roads. Despite the modern roads which make journeys less hazadours than before, cyclists have to face with heavy traffic most of the time. It means that air pollution, noise from cars and motorbikes, even accidents are waiting to harm them. Finally, travelling by bike takes lots of time, longer than other forms of transport, the main factors in busy and stressful lives nowadays.

With many effective public and private inititates, there are always opportunities for cycling to be more popular. It begins with the alter from each people. They can take short distance first to get acquaintance with cycling, maybe from their houses to nearest shops. Furthermore, campaigns in media, in local communities or at work could promote the benefits of riding a bike, and workplaces need to have changing facilities and hot showers for employees arriving cold or wet from cycling. Also authorities should introduce congest fee to prevent the use of many cars and motorbikes together with building more cycle lanes and safe bike parks. These ensure safe and fast journey.

There any many reasons why cycling is not as popular as other kinds of transport in spite of its advantages. With appropriate campaigns and investment, it is possible to encourage people use bicycle more.