Write about the following topic.

It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is frequently suggested that encouraging children to pick up reading materials is becoming increasingly challenging. This essay aims to elaborate on possible explanations for this trend and provide practiceable solutions to promote interest in reading among youngsters.

Regarding the causes of this activity's declining popularity, I believe the booming of the multimedia has the greatest impact. For instance, in modern times, millenials, who grow up in a cartoon culture, often prefer to watch a movie with vivid colors, high quality images and clear audio to enjoy a fascinating work of fiction rather than read about it in a heavy tome. This is probably just because children's vocabulary is still limited and they need visual and sound assistance to help them understand verbal clues better. Another possible explanation could be the plethora of interesting pastime activities available to young people in the modern world. For them, chasing after a ball in a soccer match or beating their friends in a computer game seems to be a lot more compelling than picking up a book or newspaper.

In order to promote reading among youngsters, there are several plausible solutions. Firstly, authors of children's books should incorporate more pictures and illustrations in their work. This should attract more young readers as they can comprehend reading materials better thanks to the visual aids provided. Secondly, topics for children's books should also be updated regularly and kept more relatable to real life. From my observation, young readers nowadays prefer to read about real life heroes whose good deeds are real life feats instead of some fabricated stories.