Write an essay about the social and economic impacts of social media

There is no doubt that social media has brought considerable changes to our lives in recent years, both beneficial and negative. This essay thus will discuss the impacts of social media on society and the economy.

Concerning the impacts of online media, one of the greatest ones is communication. Social networking sites have made it much easier for us to maintain contact with significant friends or family members regardless of geographical location. In other words, it has eliminated many communication barriers enabling people to interact and freely share information, news, photos and opinions about various topics of interest. To illustrate, during a period of social distance and limited contact with others, social networking sites such as Facebook, Zalo, Instagram became important places to communicate. However, it results in a lack of face to face communication: people prefer virtual conversational exchanges such as video calls or texts to keep their families updated with the latest news in their lives. Despite social media being a faster means of communication, it also can be attributed to being humble to talk in real life. In addition, it leads to a decrease in social activity, feelings of loneliness, and reduced self-esteem.

Social media influences not only communication but economics as well. Today, online platforms offer marketplaces where anyone with an account may sell and purchase a variety of commodities. According to a survey of BBC news, many companies are improving their advertising efforts to promote and expand their branches and products, with targeted advertising being particularly effective in attracting new consumers. This directly supports the stability of domestic economic and social productivity. Social media indeed has positive impacts on the economy. Nevertheless, it reduces productivity since it distracts staff attention away from their job.

In conclusion, social networks might bring about several impacts on society and the economy. Therefore, we need to take advantage of social media wisely for positive purposes.