WRITING: Some people think that good health is important to everyone, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the disadvantages of private healthcare outweigh the advantages?

In contemporary society, it is irrefutable that good health is crucial for everyone. Therefore, some people hold the assumption that medical systems should not be run by profitable organizations. Nonetheless, it is my strong belief that private clinics serve an important function and thus should not be eliminated. The following essay will elucidate this viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some demerits of a privatized medical system. To embark on, treatment costs in self-operated healthcare services are more likely to be higher than state-owned ones, meaning that only the financially advantaged can afford this high-quality care, leaving those from lower classes only able to obtain second-rate healthcare. However, the poor tend to be more vulnerable to severe illness and hence have more demand for advanced care offered by this system, but unfortunately, financial hardships prevent them from enjoying this privilege. Furthermore, without the government’s supervision, several private hospitals may become dishonest. To illustrate, unnecessary tests are conducted to raise the cost of treatment, thereby making money for the owners’ benefits at the expense of innocent patients.

On the other hand, there are more merits of profit-yielding healthcare services. Firstly, private healthcare services share the responsibility with public hospitals in taking care of patients. This, as a result, helps to reduce the pressure put on state-owned healthcare institutions in terms of overload of patients, finance, or facilities which adversely affects the treatment process. A salient example is that amid the COVID-19 pandemic, many public hospitals in the US are overburdened with daily infected patients. Nevertheless, with many private hospitals available at the time, the patients still receive adequate treatment, and state-owned clinics can better concentrate on treating their patients rather tahn worrying about facility shortages. On top of that, the government also spends less money on treating patients, whereas the budget could be allocated to upgrade medical facilities or construct new infrastructure. Secondly, in order to make considerable profits and attract more customers, many private healthcare hospitals try their best to offer better medical services at a more affordable price. The customers, accordingly, greatly benefit from this stiff competition among many clinics.

By way of conclusion, while admitting some negative influence of profit-driven hospitals, I reaffirm my position that the merits are more significant, especially when considering the quality of care as well as its role in addressing several issues of a public healthcare system.