You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In the recent times the food wastage issue has increased dramatically. The food bought by restaurants and shops is wasted a lot by many people. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward several solutions for the issue.

There could be several reasons why the people are wasting the food. Firstly, the kind of deals offered by shops and restaurants make people buy excessive amount food; the offers like combo meals and buy 1 get 1 free looks cheaper to the buyers. Since, the consumers find these kind of deals pocket friendly, unknowingly they buy extra food which is thrown away in most of the cases. For example, in my college days, me and my friends use to have pizza from a restaurant frequently but so many times we wasted it as we bought large pizzas to avail the offer.

To reduce the wastage of food, an awareness campaign should be organized. Although, from the childhood itself everyone is taught about the importance of food still there are many people are wasting the food as they don't understand its value. An awareness campaign conducted throughout the country can encourage people to save food. A poster representing the data of food wastage and also showing the hard work of a farmer to grow a crop should be pasted at the restaurants and shops. For example, there is a board in the cafeteria of my college where the amount of food wasted by students in a day is displayed everyday. That board embarrassed students a lot and encouraged them to save food.

To summaries, the reason behind food wastage is buying extra amount of food to avail some discount from the shop or restaurant and in my opinion this problem could be solved if people understand how valuable food is for their existence.