You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should write at least 250 words.

NOWADAYS MANY PRODUCTS HAVE BECOME Well-received DUE TO THEIR ADVERTISEMENT POWRESS, NOT FOR THE QUALITY OR THE NECESSITY THEY OFFER TO THE COMMUNITY.

IN MODERN ERA, ADVERTISING IS SIMILAR TO BRANDING ONE'S PRODUCT. MANY SOCIAL NETWORKING SITES ARE USED TO REACH THE CONSUMERS AND BRING OUT THE NUMBER OF SALE. NEWS OF DISCOUNT AND FREE GIVEAWAYS ARE CONSIDERED AS SELLING APPROACHES BY MANY COMPANIES. LIVE VIDEOS ON YOUTUBE OR FACEBOOK ALONG WITH PRODUCT PLACEMENT IN MOVIES OR DRMAS ARE SIMILAR TO MARKETING STRATEGIES. MANY BRAND PLAN OUT ADVERTISEMENT LIKE A DRAMA OR ADD A PLOT TWIST TO APPEAL TO THE WATCHERS AND ENVOKE THEM TO BUY AND USE THEIR GOODS. WATCHING SUCH FORM OF DISPLAY OFTEN MISLEAD THE USERS ABOUT THE COMMODITY THEY ARE ABOUT TO BUY. FURTHERMORE, NO MATTER HOW GOOD THEIR TACTICS BECOME, UNFORTUNATELY, THE QUALITY OF SOME PRODUCTS NEVER REACH THE DESIRED LEVEL.

FOR EXAMPLE, AARONG IS CONSIDERED ONE OF THE BEST CLOTHING BRAND IN BANGLADESH WHICH ONLY HAS ONE YEAR-END SALE. HOWEVER, THEIR POPULARITY DECREASED AS THEY WENT INTO A CONTROVERSY FOR INCREASING THEIR PRICE AS FESTIVALS APPROACHED. BATA, A ONCE POPULAR SHOE BRAND LOSTS ITS CONSUMERS AS THE QUALITY OF THE SHOES REDUCED. BUT THESE INCIDENTS DID NOT DETER THE COMPANIES FROM APPEARING IN MEDIA.

ON THE OTHER HAND, YOU WILL FIND MANY START-UPS THAT CAN NOT EVEN OPEN THEIR BUSINESSES PROPERLY AS THEY DO NOT GET A OPEN SLOT FOR ADVERTISEMENT IN NATIONAL TELEVISION OR NEWSPAPER. MANY LOCAL SHOPS OFFER BETTER QUALITY PRODUCTS AT A CHEAPER RATE, BUT LACK THE POPULARITY THE DESERVE.

SO IN THE END, THE ESSAY FULLY AGREES WITH THE STATEMENT THAT POPULAR PRODUCTS ARE NOT NECESSARILY QUALITY PRODUCTS.