You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Appearance is surely an important aspect as it is the first thing people notice when they see each other. Although many organization believe that dressing smartly is essential, others still value the quality of work on top of physical appearance.

An excellent appearance leaves a good first impression which might be beneficial for the organization in the future. For example, dressing formally while meeting with a client could boost confidence and show the professionalism of an organization as it appears that the organization take the meeting seriously. Dressing smartly can also portray a company's brand image as it will be seen that the organization is formal and has a high standard.

Meanwhile, others disagree to that belief and suggests that the quality of work is much more important than appearance. Work ethics and professionalism should not be seen through its appearance. Hence, it should be published through the output of the organization. Many people believe that appearance might fool others as it only seems like a mask that is shown to the world and having a good appearance would not be enough. Having a good appearance is unfair as people with a better look would be more appreciated, even though their work results might not be as good.

In summary, good appearance is the first thing people see when they first meet and it can build a good impression. However, the quality of work is also as important. Therefore, it is agreed that dressing smartly is essential, but a high quality work result and ethic is also needed.