You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people are constantly advancing in the development of modern technology. However, there is a heavy price to pay as pollution has become one of the most serious problems we face. The first factor under great pressure is water. In modern times, a series of factories and factories are built, leading to a huge amount of waste that needs to be treated. But with a lack of wastewater treatment systems, most of this wastewater is dumped directly into rivers or lakes, destroying marine life. In addition, oil spills from tanker accidents also contribute to water population growth, killing thousands of seabirds and aquatic animals. Not only water, air is also seriously polluted. It has been shown that most of the carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere is from coal-fired power plants and motor vehicles, causing global warming and the greenhouse effect. The situation is getting worse when our green lungs are seriously damaged by deforestation at an alarming rate. As a result of air pollution, human health can be threatened and there is a risk of respiratory problems and rashes. Finally, soil pollution is another example of our negative impact on the environment. With modern farming methods and overuse of chemical pesticides, soil quality is increasingly degraded due to the loss of important minerals and microorganisms in it. Furthermore, it can be contaminated due to improper disposal of waste or heavy metals from factories and power plants. These substances will enter our waterways and then our food chain, gradually damaging our health. In all likelihood, arable land will turn into desert or be lost to erosion and waterlogging. To conclude, the environment is being polluted at a high rate, negatively affecting our lives in many ways. Therefore, it is necessary to take measures to save the Earth before it is too late.