Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is increasing concern over the significant increase in the number of teenage criminals. Some people think that they should receive the same kind of punishment as adults who commit crimes. However, in my opinion, I believe that the government can help these young criminals get back to their life by educating rather than treat them in jail.

To begin with, most of adults criminals are the results of unemployment in society and the addiction to a drug. Meanwhile, the most common reason cause youngster commit crimes are that they try to imitate others to do some illegal activities such as gambling or robbing. For instance, a teenage boy becomes a murder by killing all members of a family to rob their money for buying drugs.

In my opinion, treating these young criminals in the same as adults may not help to reduce the number of crimes. First, punish a criminal severely may be a good way to help others realize that they will pay a huge cost for the illegal activities they have done. However, youngster’s personality is not fixed yet, it is easily affected by others and may not distinguish what things are right or wrong. Therefore, I personally believe that the right way of rehabilitation and re-education process can help these young troublemakers understand more about morality and to respect their own life and other people life.

In conclusion, the young criminals should not be treated in the same as adults due to the fact that they are still young and have a long future lying ahead. Therefore, they can be re-educated to gain knowledge and get their life back easier than adults.