Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but not poor alternatives to a natural environment. Discuss some of the arguments for and/or against keeping animals in zoos.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, more animals are taken away from their natural habitats to live their lifelong in zoos. Although it is a common belief that zoos are the best places for these animal to survive, others argue that it prevent them from growing up as a real wild animal. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion.

First of all, it is undeniable that keeping animals in zoos seems advantageous for them due to the fact that they can grow up in a safer and healthier environment, where their food and physical performance are checked and evaluated regularly. Compared to wild animals living in natural habitats, there is higher possibility for animals in zoos to survive until their adulthood. Moreover, zoos are established not only to benefit animals themselves but also human. It is evident that in these days, zoos are used for education and tourism as well. Many people believe that seeing and touching the real animals is a completely different experience from watching them on TV. Therefore, visiting the zoos, in their opinion, not only helps children have more skills to deal with the animals on their own but also improve their love for the nature. In addition, on the economical point of view, the operation of zoos in many countries has brought a great deal of profit to national budget in recent years and played an important role in the tourism of some areas.

On the other hand, it is generally believed that the advantages of zoos cannot outweigh their withdraws for several reasons. The main one is that not all the zoos have enough facilities and conditions to keep these animals in their best performance. In some places, people simply put these species in cages and feed them one or two basic meals a day to keep them alive so that the zoos can continue to operate and make profit from visitors. Another problem with zoos is that the animals grown there have so limited skills to survive in the wild because they are provided with everything to support their life. It means that they have no choice but keep these animals in zoos all their life, which makes the preservation purpose nonsense as they cannot return to their natural habitat.

All things considered, keeping animals in zoos has plenty of advantages as well as disadvantages. However, I firmly support that we should only put some endangered species in zoos and let the others to live in the wild because it is more efficient to improve laws on banning animals hunting than to keep an eye on them all the time.