Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce this?

Public concern has arisen about negative pressures from schools, family, society and even peers that children are suffering from these days. In this essay, I will analyse the reasons of this phenomenon and suggest some solutions as well.

The causes of these pressures are manifold. The fundamental factor that we need to take into consideration is the increasing role of education in the modern world. More specifically, society is now requiring too much from children and even establish a system of standards that they have to achieve, including tests, assignments and educational goals for schools. As a result, although this has significant effects on improving the education system, children take a huge burden to satisfy these expectations. Above all, the larger gap between the rich and poor may lead to inequality in education as children from different backgrounds get varied educational conditions. Not all parents can provide their children with expensive learning tools and equipments. Therefore, they may suffer from jealousy and pressure to be dominant in other aspects.

Giving the above reasons, I am convinced that immediate actions should be taken to combat this situation. Priority should be given to the increase in education budget. In other words, government needs to make great efforts to guarantee the learning opportunities for every child by financial aids or scholarships. In addition, educational methods should be changed into less competitive ones so that children can be evaluated by their strong points and attempts rather than test scores and homework handouts.

All things considered, I firmly believe that children’s huge pressures are the consequences of overrated expectations and diverse learning conditions. Accordingly, it is generally advisable that the government should implement efficient policies to improve educational system and evaluation.