07 10 2017 Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspaper and TV has bad influences so this kind of information should be restricted on the media To what extent do you agree or disagree

Although reporting crimes seems to be attractive to public’s attention and interests, debate over whether the sophisticated outlines should be banned to avoid negative impacts on society has been drawn out. On my view, it is decided by what type of contents are published for what kind of purposes are behind this practice. Media should continue publish detailed coverage when appropriate.

Timely and sensitive coverage of victims’ cases can be helpful, particularly when police department require public’s instant awareness and assistance. It can be seen in emergency situations, such as the abduction of a missing child or reminder calls for Cyber crimes against children. Detailed depictions of these specific cases can not only contribute to positive changes to shape public attitudes, but also connect government and public to communicate and collaborate to trace the suspects and save children from serious crimes.

Meanwhile, the media’s coverage in certain ways can facilitate governments to act on serious crimes which provoke massive tragedies. Real-life examples can be seen in shooting cases in American schools. After media published narrative descriptions on how suspects accessed to weapons and how they carried them while entering schools, the provincial and national governments enacted weapon restriction laws for youngsters. More importantly, they invested more budgets on public school security systems, and later built teenage mental wellness and post-traumatic management programs which were proved to be beneficial for children undergone the brutal crimes.

By saying that, some people are quite concerned about there is a risk of leaking out critical information showing police investigation progress. Consequently, it may favour suspects or criminals to disguise and escape. However, some cold cases were surprisingly solved by people providing vital clues and evidence, and volunteering to be witnesses, because they either recognized the criminals on TV or the reports awakened their memories of crime scenes.

In sum, some specific content may have potentially negative influences on public, whilst the significant positives with proper purposes cannot be neglected, and instead it should be further promoted. Besides, the profound solutions or policies on how to avoid these “bad consequences”, as well as to better excel the beneficial aspects of media coverage need to be discussed in depth by public, media itself, and government.