In the 21st century, many women have come out of their home to become what we call working women.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of women doing work?

In this competitive and contemporary world, a large number of women have stepped out of their homes to become independent working women. However, this scenario has its own pros and cons which I will discuss in the below paragraphs.

To begin with, an increase in the number of working women has made a great impact on the women empowerment movement. For example, we have many successful female public figures like Priyanka Chopra who won the Miss World contest, and this inspired many others. Furthermore, another benefit of a working lady in the house is having an additional hand for financial support. For example, due to an increase in inflation and other economic crisis, it is difficult for a husband, a father, or a son to meet the needs of the entire family. So, employed women can share the financial burden. In addition to these advantages, this trend has helped in raising the place of women in society. Moreover, it contributed to tearing down the social stigma that women should not work or be educated. For example, gender equality is now considered in the workplaces and people are becoming aware of the importance of educating a girl child which will enable her to make a career.

Although, there are some drawbacks to the growing number of working women. Firstly, kids do not get enough time from mothers who are working and there is a probability of kids getting indulged in wrong activities. For instance, the working hours in a private sector can be prolonged and this results in having less time for children and other family members. But, this situation can be tackled by considering work-life balance techniques. Secondly, females are more prone to health issues. To cite an example, meeting deadlines can make them stressed out and often leads to health issues like depression or anxiety. Nonetheless, following a proper diet, getting enough sleep and regular exercise can be helpful in maintaining good health. Thirdly, females often face sexual harassment at the workplace. Still, implementing strict rules to punish the offender can help in curbing this awful act.

To conclude, in my opinion, the advantages of a surging number of working women outweighs its disadvantages. In fact, it is a need of the hour that more and more women should consider being employed.