9. Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people believe that being a teenager brings a great deal of happiness rather than being a responsible mature, others are of the belief of the opposite view. Although adolescence years might be happier because there are almost no responsibilities, I do prefer adulthood as it brings more freedom in terms of one’s financial and social decisions. This essay will discuss both sides of this debate thoroughly before a reasonable conclusion is reached.

The teenage years are often seen as the most exciting period of many people’s life simply because of fewer responsibilities and more freedom. This is to say that a teenager, unlike an adult, usually does not have to care about paying bills, proving himself at work, or competing with other businesses’ owners. Definitely, these factors do contribute to a less stressful life and often lead to a sense of fulfillment and happiness amongst young people. A recent survey conducted by “ Family Care Organization”, on 200 British families, has revealed that 80% of teenagers were found to be extremely glad and satisfied about the way they live their lives, while the percentage dramatically decreased to 25%, when it came to their parents’ satisfaction.

On the other hand, many people, including myself, may think that being a grown-up is far more rewarding because a person gets paid and even the sense of accountability either at home or work, for many, is positive and enjoyable in itself. In addition to this, many individuals do passionately enjoy looking after their loved ones, and they never consider this as disadvantageous. For example, while I was a child, I frequently asked my parents to travel to Europe during the summer holidays, but they refused due to either lack of monetary resources or their irrational strict parental control. Nevertheless, after I graduated, I got a well-paid job, and since then I have been visiting numerous countries during my annual leave.

Having presented the aforementioned ideas, it can be concluded that although there are many merits for the teenage years such as the absence of work or family-related constraints, being self-independent adult can bring more happiness because the advantage of independently making one’s financial and social decisions.