Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Transnational corporations are opening more and more branches in the poorer nations. Whilst a higher rate of employment for local residents is the main merit for such a trend, difficulties local businesses are facing to compete with these business titans is the main drawback.

When a multinational firm establishes a new branch in one of less developed states, this undoubtedly helps create lots of job opportunities for job seekers in these countries. This means less poverty, less unemployment and more prosperity for this national economy, which can lead to better social stability and citizens' overall satisfaction. According to a recent study conducted by Cairo University, 30 % of Egyptian university graduates, over the last 5 years, have been hired by huge American corporations operating in Egypt, such as Pepsi, Google, Apple and General Electric. Therefore, the benefits of having these establishments working in some of developing countries are obvious.

On the other hand, it is virtually impossible for national industries and local service providers to challenge multinational companies because they have huge budgets, highly qualified employees, and strong links to media. These characteristics make it extremely tough for small national brands to compete with these mega-businesses. The Economist, for instance, has recently conducted a new research study which revealed that in Cairo for each new McDonald or KFC shop sets up, there are consequently 3 to 5 traditional Egyptian restaurants either completely close out or are suffering severe financial issues. This is because a large number of customers are being gravitated towards globally well-known fast food chain.

Having presented the aforementioned merits and demerits for multinational companies, it can be concluded that although these overseas corporations benefit developing countries’ economies by providing many job opportunities, they can result in destroying or at least hindering the progress of some local competitors.