As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What are the factors that contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Being satisfied with your job is paramount for one's mental and physical well-being because many of us spend a great deal of their life immersed in job-related activities. One of the most important reasons for job satisfaction is financial gain, but some employees have unrealistic expectations about salaries they should be paid, especially at the start up of their careers.

To begin with, among all motives contributing to happiness at workplace, a well-paid job is the major reason for such a positive feeling for most of workers all over the world. In other words, things like on job training, promotions and work ethics and culture come in the second priority. According to a survey conducted by Labor International Organisation in 2015, 76% of industrial sector workforce, both skilled and unskilled workers, opted to be hired by corporations which paid higher salaries and incentives, regardless of any other characteristics. Therefore, a straightforward link between employees' happiness and their wages has been clearly established.

If we admit the fact that has been proven throughout the previous paragraph, the issue of a decent job with a sky-high pay is often accompanied with extreme anticipations. For example, some of fresh graduates engineers have given up their jobs in my company because they are dissatisfied with 2000 dollars as a monthly pay. When I asked one of them to tell me what is the minimum amount of money that could make him change his mind, the answer was 10,000 dollars. Therefore, some newly hired workers have depicted a totally romantic portrait about their dream jobs; nevertheless, such salaries they are dreaming of can be achieved but if they gain lots of hands-on experience, rigorous training and both technical and communication skills, otherwise, there is no explanation why an employer or business owner would pay that much money.

In conclusion, having presented the aforementioned ideas and examples, it can be reiterated that while money talks louder and is a key player when it comes to a workforce's satisfaction, being realistic about what we should get as a reasonable wage can help us to improve and get increasingly higher salaries as we grow in our careers.