Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Transnational corporations are opening more and more branches for their businesses in the poorer nations. Whilst a higher rate of employment for local residents is the main merit for such a trend, difficulties faced by local businesses to compete with these business titans is the main drawback.

When a multinational firm establishes a new branch in one of undeveloped states, this undoubtedly help secure lots of jobs for job seekers in these countries. This means less poverty, unemployment and more prosperity for this nation economy which can lead to better social stability and citizens' overall satisfaction. According to a recent study conducted by Cairo University in Egypt, 20-25 % of Egypt's workforce work for Egyptian divisions of global American companies, such as Pepsi, Google, Apple, General Motors and General Electric. Therefore, the benefits of having these establishments working in some of developing countries are obvious.

On the other hand, it is virtually impossible for national industries and local service providers to compete with multinational companies because they have huge budgets, mass production strategies, highly qualified employees, and strong links to both media and social media. These characteristics make it extremely tough for small national firms to challenge and compete with these mega-businesses. In the city where I live, over last few years, approximately 5 traditional restaurants have closed out because McDonald and KFC have opened up many shops for fast food. In such a case, People do not only gravitate to their tasty cuisine, but they also prefer them for their cheaper prices. Thus, transnational investments can somehow jeopardize the progress of local micro-economy by compelling small businesses to stop their operations.

In conclusion, having presented the aforementioned merits and demerits for multinational companies, it can be reiterated that while an increasing rate of employment in the poorer states definitely benefits their national economy, dire consequences on growing national industries and businesses because inability to compete with transnational ones can consider the main drawback.