Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Today, fruits and vegetables are imported from some countries to others the world over as they are either not cultivated in these areas or it is not their harvest season. Whilst the availability and variety of products at the markets this trend brings about is the prime merit, the main drawback is the pollution that is caused by those cargo airplanes.

The primary advantage of produce transportation is that it provides a wide range of products and exotic fruits and vegetables in countless markets all over the world as they never used to have before. For example, in my local supermarket in Dubai, there are many tropical and European fruits, which are almost fresh because they are transported by airplanes and brought on daily basis from their countries of origin, such as watermelons and kiwi. This is certainly advantageous and enjoyable because it gives us an opportunity to experience and taste numerous number of products that could be virtually impossible or extremely difficult if this advanced option of transportation would not exist.

On the other hand, the pollution posed by those titan air crafts forms undoubted strain on the environment. A recent article in , The Economist' has been estimated that the UK runs approximately 1200 cargo flights to and from African tropical countries to import many different kinds of fruits every year. If we consider that each flight of those releases more or less 50 tonnes of carbon dioxide which is the key accused element to damaging environmental impacts, such as global warming and climate change, this, therefore, clearly shows that the drawback to this phenomenon has to be taken seriously in order to preserve our mother nature.

In conclusion, having presented the aforementioned ideas and examples, it can be reiterated that while variety and availability of myriad number of vegetables and fruits contribute to a great deal of customers' satisfaction, air contamination posed by air transport, which is being utilized for this transaction, is an undeniable threat to biological and ecosystem.