Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, some countries have been increasing their use of airplanes to import produce, which is out of season, or impossible to grow. While having a wide variety of fruit and vegetables is the biggest benefit of this, the stress on the environment produced by airplanes is an important disadvantage.

One evident benefit of importing fruit and vegetables from other countries is the wide range of products that can be found throughout the year. Residents of colder countries in parts of northern Europe and North America are now able to sample the delights of the tropics in winter, rather than having to wait until the summer months. To illustrate, in my

local supermarket in Ireland it is possible to see an extensive variety of exotic products, such as avocados or watermelons, regardless of the time of year.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to transporting these products by airplane. Airplanes produce a huge amount of

carbon dioxide, which causes a lot of pollution in the atmosphere and leads to global warming. For example, it is estimated by Green Peace

that up to 13,000 tonnes of CO2 are released into the atmosphere every year by planes carrying foodstuffs from tropical countries. This

issue is compounded when you consider that the food needs to be transported from the airport to the shops by trucks, thus increasing the carbon footprint even further.

In conclusion, while importing produce from overseas can be very advantageous because it allows people to eat different products, it is

important to pay attention to the costs to the environment that transport causes.