Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Todays world economy tries to find more convenient and cheaper ways to transport different goods, therefore air transport is favored. Solution for the countries which climate and seasons do not support their growth, is import. exporting fruits and vegetables has both negative and positive sides, such as short shelf life or good marketing opportunities.

countries wich have poor climate for growing exotic fruits and vegetables have high demand among consumers. high demand builds perfect marketing foundation and constant consumption amount. Cheapest and fastest way to support the need is by air transport. Thank to air transport we can enjoy those exotic goods around the world, despite seasons and climate. For example, Estonian climate do not support growth of kiwis. As kiwis have short shelf life only way to export them form New Zealand to Estonia is by air transport.

Nevertheless, short shelf life has own challenges. exporting fast decay acting goods in constant and massive amounts needs constant quality check. transport time is the most import aspect to delivering healthy fruits and vegetables to consumers. Although, it is fast and convenient, it can be less liable and amounts are much smaller compared to the land or sea transport. amounts what are possible transport by sea, are much bigger and cost many times less than air transport. Also, air transport can be delayed, because planes can have minor problem, therefore maintenance is carried out immediately. For that reason, goods will go bad and consumers do not have their products.

To conclude advantages and disadvantages of air transport, we can clearly see that despite fast delivery, it has its own difficulties. As the planes are really complicated machines they need constant checks and maintenance wich is expensive and time consuming. Under those circumstances there will be storage of goods in stores.