Some people think that all university students should study whatever

they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study

subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to

science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people may believe that tertiary students should be given freedom to select their study progrommes of their interests, others, including myself, are of the belief that graduating from scientific or technological institutions is much more beneficial if they are keen on securing a decent job in the future. Both views will be discussed thoroughly before a reasoned conclusion will be reached.

On the one hand, it might be said that if students are left free to decide on which study programs to enroll in according to their desires and talents, they will most probably excel and outperform others because they would likely be more creative and innovative. For example, a friend of mine who was gifted painter since being a child, joined the Faculty of Fine Arts in Cairo University and refused to join the Faculty of Medicine, despite the fact that he was qualified to do so, and he met all pre-requisites. As a result, he is now one of the most famous painters not only in Egypt but also worldwide. Despite this story of a successful figure, it is not the rule; it is just an exception as many of art, drama, music graduates end up unfortunately jobless.

On the other hand, graduates from Engineering, Medicine, Information Technology (IT) faculties have mostly no issue at all to get a well-paid job in prestigious establishments in any country the world over. Factories, power and industrial plants, oil and gas or mining companies are a few instances out of many other businesses which heavily depend on such highly educated workforce. According to a research conducted by ‘The Economist’ in 2018, unemployment rates amongst IT fresh graduated engineers in the USA were less 5 times than that reported for their counterparts who graduated from Music or Drama institutes. This emphasises that by having a degree from a scientific academy, job opportunities’ availability and sustainability are anticipated to be far higher.

In conclusion, having looked at both sides of this debate, it can be reiterated that while following one’s desires and innate talents seems to be quitely attractive abstract, a degree in the field of science or technology has been proven to be a more beneficial and realistic option for students’ foreseeable future.