Advantages and disadvantages of EVFTA

In recent years, The European Union – Việt Nam Free Trade Agreement (EVFTA) has been receiving a great deal of media attention because this is the largest new-generation free trade agreement that Vietnam has ever signed. This agreement is believed to bring Vietnam a myriad of opportunities to foster economic growth which are always bound up with challenges that should not be taken lightly.

There are some associated benefits that can be reaped from signing the EVFTA. First of all, this trade agreement helps Vietnam increase its competitive edge through a significant reduction of tariff barriers. This contributes to increasing the volume of imports and exports between Vietnam and the European Union, thereby diversifying trade partners. Therefore, Vietnamese products can reach different markets that generate revenue and brings more wealth to Vietnam. Secondly, this agreement contributes to favorable conditions for Vietnam to trade in a better transparent legal environment and thereby attracting more investment from Europe. This is an opportunity for Vietnam to import high quality & reasonably priced material from EU as well as benefit from exceptional technique and equipment. This contributes to boosting Vietnam’s sustainable development, especially facilitate manufacturing industries and employment for domestic workers.

On the other hand, the EVFTA also poses several potential pitfalls to the Vietnamese economy which prompts the Government to take bold actions to survive in the international market. Firstly, there are a number of quality standards that Vietnamese products have to meet. EU requires products to meet requirements on technical standards, as well as plant and animal safety and hygiene criteria. This will be the biggest challenge that businesses have to attempt to improve because international consumers have very different and strict requirements compared with domestic ones. Secondly, the EVFTA also covers rules of origin which motivate Vietnam to be proactive to have sources of materials meeting traceability criteria. For example, textile products exported to EU must be made from materials produced in Vietnam and processing must be implemented by Vietnamese or EU enterprises. This may cause difficulties for textile businesses to receive incentives because they have not been able to produce cotton by themselves yet. Instead, domestic businesses have imported cotton for apparel producing from countries outside EU for many years.

In conclusion, while EVFTA brings Vietnam opportunities to reach the international market and sustainably develop, Vietnamese enterprises should take bold actions to improve national standards to be competitive.