Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some people believe that new houses should be constructed in the same style as the more traditional houses in the locality, others contend that everyone should be free to choose their own style of house. I agree with the view that new housing should follow the traditional architecture of the area.

On the one hand, there are some who argue that it is essential to welcome change and allow individuals to have the right to live in a modern style of house, if they so wish, irrespective of the locality. They also tend to dismiss traditional ideas on terms of building costs. Traditional construction materials, like natural stone from local quarries, are difficult to obtain and very expensive even if they are available, whereas new houses are built using more affordable materials. The maintenance costs of houses constructed in the old way also tend to be higher compared with their modern counterparts. Wood, for example, is nowadays commonly replaced by aluminium or plastic materials in house construction.

On the other hand, there are strong arguments that new houses should adopt the existing architectural style of a local area. In terms of the tangible cultural heritage of a small town or village, traditional houses possess character and they give a strong sense of identity to the locality. Buildings which have historical significance provide a link to our roots, while a modern estate designed by property developers is certain to be incompatible with historical connections. From an architectural perspective, modern houses alongside traditional dwellings are an eyesore. They fail to blend in with the

housing which has grown organically, perhaps during centuries.

In conclusion, though it may be more costly, the traditional architecture of localities should be respected by modern housing developments.