Impact of Trade war on Vietnam

In recent years, the trade war has been receiving a great deal of media attention around the world because of its pronounced impacts on the world economy, especially Asian countries. As a part of Asia, Vietnam is believed to be one of the biggest winners from the trade war between the United State and China. However, in my opinion, there are also some disadvantages which should not be taken lightly.

I understand why some people believe trade war positively affects Vietnam. Firstly, a myriad of manufacturers in China tends to move their production to Vietnam. Companies operating in China are facing stiff increases in tariffs on exports to the United States as the trade war between the two countries escalates. So, there's an incentive for manufacturers in China to move their production to countries not subject to these tariffs. Not being subject to tariffs, along with proximity geography to China, Vietnam has become one of the beneficiary countries. Besides Vietnam is an attractive business environment due to its trade with ASEAN neighbors, inexpensive operating costs and especially low-priced and abundant labor source. These strengths make Vietnam an alternative to China which helps promotes Vietnam economy and generate a wide range of employment opportunities for domestic workers. Secondly, Vietnam benefits from increasing export to the US and China. High tariffs imposed on Chinese goods, in theory, make Vietnam’s products cheaper than China’s ones, and so encourage America to import from Vietnam. This contributes to promoting goods produced by Vietnam, increasing market share as well as export revenue of Vietnam.

On the other hand, trade war also poses many potential problems to the Vietnamese economy. Firstly, the US may impose tariffs on Vietnamese goods. In fact, due to the advantages mentioned above, a myriad of good with unknown origin is increasingly labeled as being produced in Vietnam, including Chinese ones. To make a profit, companies have been using material from China in producing or even importing goods from Chinese and then relabeling them as “Made in Vietnam”. This prompts the US to impose tariffs on Vietnamese goods to avoid Chinese goods shipments from Vietnam. Unfortunately, the Government has not proposed any solution to these problems which can cause Vietnam becomes the next target victim of the trade war. Secondly, with a flurry of companies moving operation to Vietnam, a myriad of problems of traffic and environment have been pressed on our country. Due to more factories and heavy load of industrial activities, carbon emission, and chemical waste has increased significantly and taken a heavy toll on the environment. These factors lead to atmosphere and water pollution, which puts residents’ physical and mental health under threat.

In conclusion, while Vietnam may benefit greatly from the trade war on the economic aspect, the government should adopt several essential policies to avoid unexpected outcomes and refrain our country from being involved in the war.