Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has been an essential part of our everyday life. In my opinion, it has both positive and negative sides in equal measure.

There are several disadvantages inherent in advertising. Advertisements, with the advent of the Internet, has been rising on an unprecedented scale. Pop-ups, flyers and billboards are virtually everywhere, and since we are simply unable to avoid seeing them, such advertising overload has been considered to be unwelcome intrusion rather than useful information. Furthermore, several ads attempt to tempt people into making unnecessary purchases. Every year, many people, under the manipulation of alluring and provocative ads, queue for the latest flagship phones, even though their old ones are still in perfectly good conditions. Discarding things when they are still of good use is a huge waste of money and resources.

However, advertisements and commercials are instrumental in promoting a new product to the market. Along with marketing, advertising plays a vital role in bringing fresh products and services closer to consumers who have not heard about them. Were it not for commercials, it would be very difficult for sellers to get their products to the market, and for buyers to be informed of new commodities. Also, in recent years, advertising has become very thought-provoking and educational. Messages of love, friendship, family core values, and environmental protection that are included in some commercials have been very well received by the audience.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that advertising is detrimental for its intrusive and manipulative nature, but it can be very informative and meaningful as well.