After finishing school, some students go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages?

A few students prefer to take time off between the transition from school to higher educational institutes and spend that gap time for traveling or working as compared to moving directly to colleges after schools. I believe that although there are a few disadvantages such as lagging behind other students, I believe it has far more advantages as it makes a student financially stable and more mature. This essay will discuss how the advantages outnumber the disadvantages.

One of the evident advantages of taking a gap is that it makes a student more mature. Students who put down their feet at different places as a tourist makes them achieve a holistic personality. It actually gives them exposure to the surroundings and makes them future-ready. Another imperative advantage of this tendency is that it makes a student financially strong by working for part-time jobs. Working, even at entry-level jobs makes them realize the importance of financial independence and they do not have to ask for pocket money from their parents.

On the other hand, there are two obvious disadvantages. Students who take a break, actually fall behind other students. Their respective counterparts are ahead of them in terms of discipline and routine. Moreover, taking a break like this will disrupt the whole decorum of studies. It would become difficult to cope up, as they might have forgotten some basic concepts that they have studied in higher secondary classes that might be needed in colleges. For instance, students coming back after a gap year are generally not able to score good marks in academics

In conclusion, regardless of its disadvantages of not being at par with regular students or slightly weak in academics, the advantages of becoming economically strong and achieving a better persona overpower the perils.