Some people decide to move to another country when they retire. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this practice?

Settling in a foreign country is a common practice these days. Few people prefer to do this after their retirement. It has advantages such as improved living standards and breaking of boring schedule and also has disadvantages such as getting cultural shocks and, feeling homesick. This essay will examine the pros and cons of this trend.

One evident benefit of moving abroad post-retirement is that people can enjoy good living standards. This is because the quality of life is better overseas. Hence, one can have better materialistic conditions over there. Apart from that, working for almost half a decade, a person’s routine and life become quite monotonous. In order to break that dull routine, he should move to a new country where he could enjoy peace of mind with the changed regime, which would be full of leisure. For example, since the retired person has an ample amount of free time, he could go to the beach-side and enjoy the sunshine.

On the other hand, there are two obvious disadvantages of moving out of the native country. Firstly, after retirement, a person is not that young to accept cultural changes as it is difficult for him to learn and understand new traditions. For instance, it is not easy for a migrant to adapt to a new language. Hence, the socio-cultural barriers could hinder his smooth transition. Moreover, the elderly person is more dependent on others compared to youngsters. This is because he is prone to health issues, and at that age, a person is generally emotionally and physically weak. So living away from loved ones at this stage could be really difficult.

In conclusion, moving abroad after retirement has both positive and negative aspects. It is to be left at an individual to weigh both sides properly and then take a judicial decision.