Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters.

Do you agree or disagree?

Natural Calamity is an act of God that could happen anywhere in the world irrespective of the geographical boundaries amongst the nations. I completely agree with the statement that rich countries should assist impoverished nations with money or other resources such as food during natural catastrophes because it is the moral obligation of a country to help others during such a disaster and also, developed countries can utilize this situation for improving their diplomatic relations with poorer countries by providing them the necessary aid.

First of all, developed countries would sound unfair and cruel if they do not help under-developed or developing ones during any natural disaster. These countries should batten down the hatches to help other countries in need as they already have the upper hand in terms of wealth and other resources. Failing to do so makes that country non-philanthropist which is generally not acceptable in society. For instance, United Kingdom helped poorer countries of Africa during the Ebola breakout for which the UK was applauded by the United Nations.

Secondly, rich countries could improve their relations with poor nations if they prove help during natural calamity. Since manpower is cheap in developing countries, by developing good global relations with them, developed countries can generate revenues. For instance, recent studies have shown that Indo-Canadian relations were improved when Canada provided financial aid while India faced a feminine last year. So nowadays we can see a lot of Global outsourcing centers located in India for Canada's business, which will ultimately help Canada’s pockets to grow.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that wealthier nations should help poorer ones during the natural calamity as this is a moral responsibility of rich nations to help others in need and apart from that they could benefit from poor countries by keeping good relations that eventually will help them in generating more revenues.