Some people decide to move to another country when they retire. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this practice?

Settling in a foreign country is a common practice these days. A few people prefer to do this after their retirement. This essay will examine the pros and cons of this trend.

One evident benefit of moving abroad post-retirement is that people can enjoy better living standards. This is because they believe that the quality of life is better overseas. Moreover, they have financial stability and all they need is to relax. Apart from that working for almost half a decade, person’s routine and life become quite monotonous. In order to break that dull routine, he prefers to move to a new country where he can find peace with the changing environment.

On the other hand, there are two obvious disadvantages of moving out of the native country. Firstly, after retirement, a person is not that young to accept cultural changes as it is difficult for him to learn and understand their tradition. For instance, it is not easy for a migrant to adapt and learn a new language. Moreover, the elderly person becomes more homesick, once he moves out of this native place. This is because he becomes more prone to health issues and at that age, a person is generally emotionally and physically weak. So living away from loved ones at this age is really difficult.

In conclusion, moving abroad after retirement has both positive and negative aspects. It is to be left at an individual to weigh both sides properly and then decide.