Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Mobile phones have become the part and parcel of our lives, especially for youths. A few educational institutes have banned the usage of phones. The essay will discuss the positive aspects of this amendment as it will help the students both in academics as well as in their well-being.

Restricting the use of mobiles in classrooms can improve learning. With the ban on mobile phones, there will be less distraction as a result, students can focus more on their studies. For instance, keeping a mobile phone in the classroom, be it with the teacher or students, the constant urge to check their mobiles will always be there. This kind of distraction could only be removed or reduced to a great extent if phones are banned within the premises.

In addition to this, the constant use of mobile phones makes a child quite addictive and reduces their interest in outdoor activities. It makes them quite dull. They prefer staying indoor and start avoiding playing in the playground during breaks. According to a survey, it has been observed that youngsters of these days are more prone to issues like obesity and depression as compared to adults. Increased use of phones is the main reason behind such kind of issue.

In conclusion, even though mobile phones play a vital role in our lives, I strongly condemn its use in schools. Pupils are not able to focus on their curriculum and it is depleting their health, be it physical or mental. By avoiding phones, students would be able to learn better, will have sound health conditions, and will be able to learn how to be socially interactive.