People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that texting is quite trendy these days, as compared to calling over the phone. Fast style and a less stressful lifestyle are amongst the people are the possible reasons behind this kind of development. Personally, not being very tech-savvy, I believe that the merits of messaging have been overweighed by its demerits.

Firstly, the reason for the enhancement of text messages as compared to calls is due to changing culture. People are leading a very fast life these days and they do not have much time to spare on calls and rather prefer to work asynchronously. That is, a person can do multitasking while texting while waiting for the response. Also, people do not want any stress of getting into an awkward silence of not responding immediately as while texting have an ample amount to respond in contrast to phone calls where the pressure to reply on the spot is always there.

There are two prominent disadvantages of this latest trend. The first one is that through text messages, one cannot easily understand the tone of the sender which sometimes leads to misunderstanding. There have been instances in our daily lives when we text and end up in a rift because of misconceptions that arise with texting. Personal connect that could be best established through calls only, is also missing when it comes to sending text messages. It has been proved that listening to the voice of loved ones generates a sense of postie vibrations which unfortunately cannot be felt with typing.

In conclusion, communicating through written messages is in vogue as compared to calling because of the lack of time and more self-centric culture. But this is causing more harm than good as it leads to more misinterpretations and society is losing out on personal relations or intimacy.