People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that texting is quite trendy these days, as compared to calling over the phone. Modernisation and lesser formalities amongst the people are the possible reasons behind this trend. Personally, not being very tech-savvy, I believe that the merits of messaging have been overweighed by its demerits. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and the demerits of the same.

Firstly, the reason for the enhancement of text messages as compared to calls is due to changing culture. People are leading a very fast life these days and they do not have much time to spend on the icebreaking. For instance, it is a general trend that the caller will greet the other person and discuss the well-being of him before coming to the actual point. But in texting, people mostly type to the point and avoid all the formalities.

There are two prominent disadvantages of this latest trend. The first one is that through text messages, one cannot easily understand the tone of the sender which sometimes leads to misunderstanding. There have been instances in our daily lives when we text and end up fighting with each other. The other drawback is that through written messages, personal connect lags could be best established through calling only.

In conclusion, communicating through written messages is in vogue as compared to calling because of the latest technology and more self-centric culture. But this is causing more harm than good as it leads to more misinterpretations and society is losing out on personal relations or intimacy.