All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

In our modern world, Air pollution has become a major cause of concern as it is increasing at alarming rate. Number of cars on road has been increased exponentially since last 10 years which is a major cause of air pollution in the atmosphere. Hence government should restrict the number of cars that burn fossil fuels like petrol, diesel etc. on road and encourage public to use eco-friendly alternative like electric cars. Electric cars are safe for the environment and they also do not put extra pressure on earth’s limited non-renewable resources.

As electric cars use electricity to run on roads, hence there is no production of smoke due to combustion of fuel. Smoke from the vehicles contributes to the global warming on earth. Electric cars, however, are very much safe for our planet and they do not have any hazardous effects on our health as well. Moreover, electric cars are also very silent hence they help in combating noise pollution as well. For example, In Indore city, which is the cleanest city in India, the municipal corporation has recently restricted the number of traditional cars which run on fossil fuels and encouraged their people to buy electric cars. As a result, the pollution level in the city has gone down significantly and number of respiratory problem related patients has also reduced to 60 % within the 6 months of time period.

Secondly, the electric cars are the safer substitute to the traditional car because the electric energy used to run electric cars is generated from water which is also a renewable resource on earth unlike fossil fuels. Our Mother Earth has very limited resources of non-renewable energy and should be used judiciously. Over the time, our non-renewable sources of energy are depleting in an exponentially fast way and in a recent study published in an environment journal, it was mentioned that by 2050, earth will lose its 70% of the non-renewable sources of energy.

So, I strongly recommend that Government should prohibit the traditional cars which run on fossil fuels and should encourage public to use electric cars which not only produce less pollution but also are more environment-friendly. Also, they help in putting less pressure on those resources of energy which are limited and fast-depleting.